Our Position

Driven to Discover

Our Position


Location, Location, Location...

The University of Minnesota School of Dentistry is located on a classic Big Ten campus in the heart of the Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan area and primarily housed in the Malcolm Moos Health Sciences Tower, a state-of-the-art setting for research, teaching and practicing dentistry and dental hygiene.

With four campuses, 4,500 faculty members, and more that 45,000 students, the University of Minnesota is one of the nation's largest, most comprehensive public institutions of higher learning. It is both a land-grant university with a strong tradition of education and public service, and a major research institution with scholars of national and international reputation.

The Twin Cities campus is the largest of the four campuses. Made up of 20 colleges, it offers a full range of undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees. The Twin Cities campus is actually two close, but geographically separate campuses, one in Minneapolis and the other in St. Paul. The Mississippi River divides the Minneapolis campus into the East Bank -- where the School of Dentistry and the health sciences center are located -- and the West Bank. Adjacent campus neighborhoods cater to student interests, while readily accessible downtowns in both Minneapolis and St. Paul offer metropolitan services and activities.

Part of a Prestigious Whole

As part of the University's Academic Health Center (AHC) - one of the most comprehensive education and research facilities for health professionals in the nation - students and faculty reap the unique benefits of being part of an exceptionally broad range of professional health education, research and treatment efforts.

Continuing a Rich History

The History of the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry reaches back to 1888, when a class of 22 students started their dental education. The School of Dentistry now trains about 73 percent of Minnesota's dentists and a majority of those in neighboring states.

Twenty-two students and four faculty members composed the University of Minnesota College of Dentistry when it began in 1888 as a division of the Department of Medicine. The college became the School of Dentistry in 1932.

Early students used a dental handpiece driven by a foot pedal and made some of their own laboratory and clinical instruments in class.

By the 1938-39 academic year, the original three-year program of study had been lengthened to four years, preceded by two years of prescribed undergraduate courses. In 1976, the prerequisites were changed to include three years of undergraduate coursework.

A two-year dental hygiene program was added in 1920. A year of prerequisite coursework was added in 1990. A baccalaureate degree program was established in 1990.

A dental graduate degree program began in 1937; from 1957 to 1993, several programs were developed to give dental graduates the opportunity to earn a Ph.D. in various disciplines.

Accredited and Connected

Undergraduate dental and dental hygiene programs and all specialty training programs are accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. The School of Dentistry is a member of the American Dental Education Association and for many decades, has prided itself on its relationship with the Minnesota Dental Association (MDA). Many dental school faculty members serve on MDA committees and several have held elected offices.

  • ©2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer
  • Last modified on January 30, 2015