Leon Assael

Leon Assael

Academic Title

Dean of School of Dentistry


Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Vanderbilt University, 1975-1978
Government, B.A., Columbia University, 1971
Other Education
Doctor of Dental Medicine (D.M.D.), Harvard University, 1975 - Medical Management, Certificate, University of Kentucky Gatton School of Business, 1999

Contact Info




Administrative Contact

Maureen Mayrand

Office Address

15-209 Moos Tower
515 Delaware St. SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Bio Statement

Assael is a graduate of Columbia University and earned his Doctor of Dental Medicine from Harvard University, School of Dental Medicine, as well as a Certificate in Medical Management from the University of Kentucky, Gatton School of Business. He completed his residency in oral and maxillofacial surgery at Vanderbilt University. Assael served as dean to the College of Dentistry, University of Kentucky until 2003, when he was appointed professor and chairman of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at the School of Dentistry at Oregon Health & Science University.

He is the past editor-in-chief of the Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, the past chairman of the Council on Dental Education and Licensure of the American Dental Association, and a diplomate to the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. In 2001, President George W. Bush awarded Assael the America’s Promise Award for advancements in oral health in Appalachia achieved by the University of Kentucky faculty. In 2010, the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons awarded Assael the Board of Trustees special recognition award. Included among the professional societies on which he serves are the American Dental Association and the Hispanic Dental Association. Assael’sprimary clinical interest is in the area of facial injuries, facial pain and maxillofacial nerve injuries, and he is a nationally known lecturer on a variety of issues.


National Honor Society, 1966

New York State Regents Scholarship, 1967-1971

Harvard School of Dental Medicine, Merit Scholarship, 1971-1975

Harvard University, Frank Randall McCullaugh Scholarship 1971-1975

Harvard Medical School, Biostatistics Academic Achievement Award, 1973

Harvard School of Dental Medicine, Honors Graduate, 1975

Graduation Class Speaker, Harvard Medical School Commencement, 1975

Omicron Kappa Upsilon Dental Honor Society 1997

American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Advisory Committee Award, 1989

American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Advisory Committee Award, 1997

Outstanding Service Award, New York State Society or Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, 1988

Fellow, American College of Dentists, 1993

American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Examining Committee Award, 1998

Distinguished Practitioner, National Academies of Practice, 1998

Consumer Research Council of America, Guide to America’s Top Dentists, 2000

Certificate of Merit, The Senate of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, D.L. Williams presiding, February 1, 2000

Pierre Fauchard Academy, March 2000

Class representative, Silver Anniversary Class, Harvard School of Dental Medicine, May 2000

Silver Anniversary Award, Outstanding Alumnus, Class of 1975, Harvard University, School of Dental Medicine, May 2000

International College of Dentists, 2001

SELAM Award, Society of Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine, 2001

America’s Promise, recognition for community projects in Kentucky promoting a healthy start for children, President George W. Bush presiding, The White House, July 9, 2001

William H. Ware Visiting Professor, University of California San Francisco, College of Dentistry, Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, February, 2002

Kentucky Colonel, Commissioned by Paul Patton, Governor Commonwealth of Kentucky, August 26, 2002

First Annual Diversity Commission Award of Excellence, University of Kentucky, President Lee Todd presiding, September 29, 2003

Class day speaker, Harvard University, School of Dental Medicine, June 2004

William Harrigan Society, Distinguished Lectureship, New York City, 2005

Kurt Thoma Award and Lectureship, American and Canadian College of oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, Halifax, Nova Scotia, June 2005

University of Louisville oral and maxillofacial surgery Skagg’s Award, Louisville, 2005

Indiana University, Laskin oral and maxillofacial surgery award, 2006

University of Pacific, Sadie oral and maxillofacial surgery award, 2006

Professional contribution award, Graduate medical Education, OHSU School of Medicine, 2007 and 2011

Ben Alley Lectureship, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, 2008

Donald Osbon award for outstanding educator in oral and maxillofacial surgery, American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, 2009

Daniel E. Waite Lectureship, University of Minnesota, 2010

  • ©2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer
  • Last modified on July 28, 2015