Dean's Recognition Reception Celebrates Dentistry

Alumni and faculty gathered at the dental school’s annual “Celebrating Dentistry” reception to help kick-off the Minnesota Dental Association’s “Star of the North Meeting” and to recognize four outstanding members of the dental school community.

Elizabeth Rydell, a graduate of the dental class of 1991 and president of the School of Dentistry Alumni Society, presented the Distinguished Dental Hygiene Alumni Award to Carol Dahlke and the Distinguished Dental Alumni Awards to Rosalie Warpeha and Robert Isaacson. Dr. Warpeha is the first woman to receive the award and the only recipient to be posthumously recognized.

Dr. Patrick Lloyd presented the 42nd Century Club of the Year Award to Maria Pintado, MPH, associate professor in the Department of Restorative Sciences, The award is the school’s highest honor and is conferred upon one faculty member each year in recognition of significant contributions in education, research and service.

Describing her as generous, caring, hardworking, and a “teacher’s teacher” Dean Patrick Lloyd lauded Pintado’s many accomplishments. “She developed courses, revised courses, and wrote manuals that have kept us on the front of teaching the latest in fields that range from oral anatomy to occlusion, to biomaterials, and expanded functions. With a dedication and perseverance that inspires everyone, she’s assembled an impressive list of scholarly achievements not only inventive and novel, but worthy of professional recognition in scientific venues, and documented by teaching awards from students and funding awards in the hundreds of thousands of dollars by the NIH and industry leaders.”

He also acknowledged Pintado’s contributions in technology development, including her role in the creation of the world famous “artificial mouth” used in the development of dental materials. She was also instrumental in developing technology utilized to measure the effects of wear on dentition, and, most recently, created a digital environment for teaching oral anatomy.

“She volunteers to help whenever there is a need, regardless of the need. And, in a most extraordinary way, she showcases the school’s accomplishments in all areas, but especially in the area of biomaterials development and has contributed to our world class reputation in that area,” said Lloyd.

The Century Club Professor of the Year is selected by a committee, chaired by the previous year’s recipient of the award and composed of former awardees representing each of the dental school’s four departments, and a graduate student, one third- and one fourth-year dental student, and one senior dental hygiene student. Their mission is to select an awardee who demonstrates outstanding service and contribution as an educator, has been innovative in their teaching effort, and has a reputation as a quality educator.

  • ©2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer
  • Last modified on July 30, 2012