Faculty/Staff Accomplishments and Recognition

Bryan Michalowicz (Clinical Research Center) has been accepted as a Fellow of the 2008-09 ADEA Leadership Institute and will join 21 dental educators from across the country as part of the ADEA Leadership Institute’s ninth class. Michalowicz was also a guest presenter at the New York Academy of Sciences’ symposium “From Basic Sciences to Clinical Practice and Policy: A Medical-Dental Dialogue on the Relationship between Periodontal Disease and Systemic Health”. The symposium was co-sponsored by the NY Academy of Sciences, Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons and the National Periodontal Disease coalition on January 18, 2008.

Nelson Rhodus (Oral Medicine & Diagnosis) was selected by the American Academy of Oral Medicine to receive The Samuel Charles Miller Award. The award in recognition of his oral cancer research, is the highest given in the field for contributions to the field of oral medicine.

Sue Elm, Bonita Falkingham, Lisa Johnson, Sharon Jungbauer, Teresa Ludwig, and Craig Selden represented the School of Dentistry at the University’s 2008 Quality Fair, held January 31 at the McNamara Center. Their presentation featured information about the school’s new infection control protocols. (The SOD received a commendation for its infection control protocols during the 2007 ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation review.) The event, which drew almost 1,000 people in only its second year, is an opportunity for U campuses, departments, and units to share best practices, celebrate quality improvement projects, and showcase innovative ideas that they've come up with over the past 12 months and that support the U's goal of transforming itself into one of the top three public research universities in the world.

  • ©2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer
  • Last modified on August 2, 2012