Dental Hygiene 1919 Alumni Society


Two Society Board Members

Friends and Alumni of the Division of Dental Hygiene

The Dental Hygiene 1919 Alumni Society, named for the year the Dental Hygiene program was first conceived, was formed to engage and encourage support from alumni and friends for the Division of Dental Hygiene.

You can find classmates, be invited to events, and stay updated on current issues by liking us on Facebook. Just search for University of Minnesota Dental Hygiene Alumni and hit the “Like” button.

The Dental Hygiene 1919 Alumni Society Board is looking for class representatives to serve as board members. We meet four times a year with a focus of reaching out to dental hygiene alumni through events and communications. If you are interested in volunteering, please contact Emily Best at or 612-625-6811.

Alumni Events

Contact Emily Best, Director of Alumni Relations and Development Officer, at 612-625-6811 or for more information.

September 2017

September 2017

September 15 - North Dakota Alumni Breakfast - Fargo, ND

October 2017

October 2017

October 14 - UMAA Day of Service

October 20 -  Homecoming Parade - Friday, October 20th at 7:00pm along Washington Ave. 

October 20 - MN Alumni & Friends Reception at ADA Annual Session - Friday, October 20 at 6:30pm of the Mariott Marquis Atlanta, GA 30303

October 21 - Ski-U-Mania and Homecoming Football Game - Saturday, October 21, time TBD, at McNamara Alumni Center and TCF Bank Stadium

Contact us

Dental Hygiene 1919 Society

Emily Best, Acting 1919 Society Chair and Director of Alumni Relations
School of Dentistry
Phone: 612-625-6811 (direct), 612-625-5751 (office)
Fax: 612-624-0027

Office Mailing Address:
15-136 Moos Tower
515 Delaware St. SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Dental Hygiene 1919 Society Board Members

The Dental Hygiene 1919 Alumni Society Board is a group of volunteers, primarily made up of dental hygiene alumni, who lead all of the 1919 Alumni Society initiatives. One notable initiative includes a fundraising effort to increase scholarship support for dental hygiene students. This resulted in the creation of the Donna Aker Dehn and Kathleen Newell Endowed Scholarship fund.

The board’s current focus is engaging alumni through various events and personal invitations.

Board Members

Emily Durand, class of 2008
Julianne Englander, class of 1990
Lanette Wedell, class of 2006

Advisory Members (Ex-Officio)

Emily Best, Acting Chair and Development Officer
Chris Blue, Director, Division of Dental Hygiene