Distinguished Alumni Awards

2018 Alumni Award Winners

S. Kaye Adams, GDHDistinguished Dental Hygiene Alumni Award
S. Kaye Adams, GDH

In many organizations, a minority of workers often do a majority of the work necessary to sustain the group. In the field of dental hygiene in Minnesota, Adams is that person—an outstanding contributor and leader who fosters trust, inspires others, and furthers the betterment of the causes she serves.

A mainstay at Boynton Dental Clinic and the Hospital Dental Clinic since 1991, Adams works with patients, teaches dental students and residents, and provides research assistance to faculty. She’s also made significant contributions to the dental hygiene profession through various service and leadership roles within the School of Dentistry and at the state and federal levels. She’s served as an ADHA trustee, MDHA president and its representative to the MN Board of Dentistry, a volunteer on the Advisory Committee of the School’s Continuing Education program, and chair of the School’s Honors Committee. She’s also a member of the UMN Medical Reserve Corps. Outside of the profession, she has an equally impressive history of service, including serving as block captain for her Neighborhood Watch Group and volunteering for her local library.

Freeman N. Rosenblum, DDS, MSDDistinguished Dental Alumni Award
Freeman N. Rosenblum DDS, MSD

A pioneering attitude and a passion for excellence have long been hallmarks of Rosenblum’s career. Early on, during his tenure as associate professor and chairman of the U’s Department of Pediatric Dentistry, he played a pivotal role in developing the department’s first graduate pediatric dental program. He also participated in numerous research projects, including an NIH study that examined expanded roles for dental assistants. And in 1968, when being boarded by the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry was rare and especially demanding, he became one of Minnesota’s first board-certified pediatric dentists and encouraged his peers to do so the same.

In 1969, Rosenblum founded Metropolitan Pediatric Dental Associates, a thriving practice that reflected his unwavering advocacy for care for all children, regardless of patients’ insurance type or status. He retired in 2011. Throughout his many years of practice, Rosenblum’s commitment to service was high. He served on the Minnesota Board of Dentistry for three terms, including two as president; chaired the Health Professional Services Diversion program; and chaired the dental division of the United Jewish Fund and the United Fund. He also served as an executive council member and president of the St. Paul District Dental Society and received the Outstanding Service Award in 2001. He was inducted into the Omicron Kappa Upsilon Honorary society in 1972 for his contributions.

About the Awards

The Distinguished Dental and Dental Hygiene Alumni Awards are honors given annually to outstanding alumni in recognition of exceptional achievement. Candidates must be a graduate of any program of the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry and are judged based on their participation, service, and leadership in the advancement of dentistry and dental health, their public service, community service, and/or civic affairs, and their dedication to continuing education.

The School of Dentistry Alumni Society Honors Task Force will review all candidates and will select the recipients for 2019, who will be presented with the award at the School of Dentistry Alumni Weekend, September 11-12, 2020.

Nominations made within the last 5 years years are considered active and will be considered for the 2019 awards. If you have nominated someone in the past five years and want to provide additional information, please contact the Alumni Office.


If you have any questions, please contact Erin Elliott at 612-626-6884 or estrong@umn.edu.

Previous recipients

PDF icon Previous Award Recipients (download)